You Need an Attorney to Fight Your Implied Consent Charge
If you’re facing charges for DUI or Implied Consent in Middle Tennessee, contact Lords & Cate to discuss your case.
Refusing a blood alcohol test such as a breathalyzer or blood for a blood test is known as an implied consent violation. This violation does not carry a criminal penalty, but it can result in loss of your driver’s license. Just like a DUI, the penalty for each implied consent violation can result in a more severe penalty. These violations are most common with DUIs because you must have refused to give blood or refused to take the breath test that accompanies a DUI stop. You need an attorney to fight your implied consent charge, and we can help.
Penalties for Implied Consent Law Violation
Refusal to Submit to Blood Alcohol (BAC) Testing [55-10-406]
- Revocation of Drivers License for 1 year – 1st offense
- Revocation of Drivers License for 2 years – 2nd offense
- Revocation of Drivers License for 2 years if crash resulted in bodily injury (Most Aggravated Drunk Driving Law)
- Revocation of Drivers License for 5 years if crash resulted in a death (Most Aggravated Drunk Driving Law)
Information provided by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security
If you are facing criminal charges in Tennessee, contact the criminal defense attorneys at The Law Office of Lords and Cate, PLLC and let us help you.